Looking Back – Paul Reubens

Out of all those summers working at my Dad’s comic store, there are several days that really stick out for me. One day in particular, Mark Hamill was in the store with his kids, he bought them some Rocketeer comics. Bill Mummy (from Babylon 5) was also in there, looking through the really cool assortment of Asian art books.

At the same time, Paul Reubens (Pee Wee Herman) was in the store. He asked me if we had his “stash.” I didn’t know what he was talking about, but my Dad went and grabbed his pull box from the back. Inside his box was a large stack of Transformer comics. I asked him if they were for his kids, he said he didn’t have kids and they were for himself. I thought that was weird, an adult buying a kid’s comic. Paul mentioned how he loves the Transformers TV show and he wanted a stack of comics to have at his stage while he was shooting The Pee Wee Herman show.

Sometimes I wonder if he still has all those comics. Maybe he is even collecting the new ones?

Leave a Reply

